« ENGLANDPlaces to Stay • East of England

East of England Hotels & Accommodation

The East of England is one of the nine official regions of England. It includes the ceremonial counties of Essex, Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk and Suffolk. The area is mostly low-lying, and the highest point is an unnamed point near the hill of Ivinghoe Beacon, near Tring, reaching 817 feet. Peterborough, Luton and Thurrock are the region's most populous urban areas.

Magical Journeys to the East of England

Counties of the East of England: BedfordshireCambridgeshire

• Bedfordshire

Bedfordshire Hotels, East of England

Bedfordshire is a county in England that forms part of the East of England region. Its county town is Bedford. It borders Cambridgeshire, Northamptonshire, Buckinghamshire and Hertfordshire. The highest elevation point is 243 metres (797 feet) on Dunstable Downs in the Chilterns …

• Cambridgeshire

Cambridgeshire Hotels, East of England

Cambridgeshire is a county in England, bordering Lincolnshire to the north, Norfolk to the northeast, Suffolk to the east, Essex and Hertfordshire to the south, and Bedfordshire and Northamptonshire to the west. Cambridgeshire contains most of the region known as Silicon Fen …

• Essex

Essex Hotels, East of England

Essex is a county in the East of England. The county town is Chelmsford, and the highest point of the county is Chrishall Common near the village of Langley, close to the Hertfordshire border. The Kingdom of Essex was traditionally founded by Aescwine in 527 AD, occupying territory to the north of the River Thames …

• Hertfordshire

Hertfordshire Hotels, East of England

Hertfordshire is a ceremonial and non-metropolitan county in the East region of England. The county town is Hertford. Hertfordshire lies across routes between London and the North, the North-West and the Midlands and as a consequence it is well-served by road and rail routes and, in the past, by canals …

• Norfolk

Norfolk Hotels, East of England

Rural Norfolk, in Southeastern England, has borders with Lincolnshire, Cambridgeshire and Suffolk. Its northern and eastern boundaries are the North Sea coast, including The Wash. The county capital is Norwich. The Broads, one of the region's most popular tourist destinations, lie partly within the county …

• Suffolk

Suffolk Hotels, East of England

Suffolk is a non-metropolitan county of historic origin in East Anglia, England. It has borders with Norfolk to the north, Cambridgeshire to the west and Essex to the south. The North Sea lies to the east. The county town is Ipswich and other important towns include Lowestoft and Bury St Edmunds …

« ENGLANDPlaces to Stay • East of England

Discover the East of England
East of England Tours, Travel & Activities

England Tours & ActivitiesEast of England
Tours & Travel

East of England Travel & Activities

The East of England between the Wash and Thames Estuary has since time immemorial been and continues to be known as East Anglia, including the county traversing the west of this line, Cambridgeshire. Essex, despite meaning East-Saxons, previously formed part of the South East England, as did Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire, a mixture of definite and debatable Home Counties …

» EAST OF ENGLAND Tours & Travel

Destination East of EnglandDiscover the
East of England

Destination East of  England

The East of England has the lowest elevation range in the UK. North Cambridgeshire and the Essex Coast have most of the around 5% of the region which is below 10 metres above sea level. The Fens are partly in North Cambridgeshire which is notable for the lowest point in the country in the land of the village of Holme 2.75 metres (9.0 ft) below mean sea level which was once Whittlesey Mere …

» Destination Guide: EAST OF ENGLAND

England Travel Guides

England Travel Guides